· 

How To Get Back Into Studying

How To Get Back Into Studying

 

 

Due to world events, I've stopped doing many things for the safety of myself and everyone around me. One of these things is going to a class to study/practice a second language. Just because I cant do a few things the same way as I usually do, I stopped studying and practicing. Im sure there are many psychological reasons why I havent put any effort into learning but for some reason I would like to get back into studying. What can I do?

 

1. Dont be too hard on myself!

I cant change the things I have or havent done. “I could have done more., “I shouldnt have been lazy.. These are phrases that will hold me back in the past, which I cant change. Its history. All I can change is now, making a decision, making a plan and acting on it.

Im starting afresh!

 

2. Starting afresh!

So, Im restarting my study. Great!

 

Ive forgotten so much! This is terrible! I was much better than this. I cant get back to how I was.

 

Im starting now. A new student, but I already know some things. If I remember just one thing from before, thats one thing more than when I started. Im already ahead by one thing! When getting back to studying, things will jog my memory. If I dont remember something, I probably needed more practice on it anyway or it wasnt important to me in the first place!

 

3. Where to start?

I used to communicate so well. I could listen and understand most things and reply with confidence but now Im slow and dont understand everything.

 

Ive taken a few steps backwards and it can take time to get back to where I was. I have a choice to start wherever I want. Right at the very beginning or from where I left my studies.

 

If I start at the beginning and Im confident in what Im re-learning, Ill move to the next part.

 

If I start at where I left my studies, Ill work backwards to where I was confident and start from there.

 

 

4. Slow start.

If I study for two or three hours, I can catch up quicker.

 

I know if I study for too long, I dont remember everything and I frustrate myself for my slow progress.

I know if I study for 20 minutes, I feel I have achieved something in a short time.

When I give myself 20 minutes to study, I usually want to study longer to understand something better or Im interested in what Im studying. I feel I have achieved more than what I have planned for which motivates me to study further!

 

5. Making the same mistakes.

I made the same mistakes as last time.

 

When I study something again and make the same mistakes as before, its okay. Why is it okay? Because Im remembering Im making a mistake which helps me prevent it! It reminds me to slow down and think before making the same mistake again.

 

6. Great expectations.

Im not improving as fast as I would like.

 

I know I want to run before I can walk. Learning anything needs a base to start from and it may seem easy or boring to learn these rules over and over again. Many things that I found easy or boring to learn over and over, I now never have to revise again. I just know from practice, practice, practice! Now, I can learn something which is more interesting and I understand the rules of what Im learning.

 

7. I mustnt quit studying again.

If I quit my studying again, Ill never be as good as I am now.

 

I dont remember everything I have ever learnt. Any professional needs to practice regularly and may even need refresher courses to keep their skills. I know if I study regularly, I can reach a level that Im happy with and with practice keep that level. Im sure I will stop regular study but if Im happy with my ability and keep practicing I still can achieve my personal goal.

 

 

These are the things that will help me get back into studying. We are all different and have our different strategies and preferences. This is very much my mission statement for me. If anything, I have written has helped you, Im glad. I do believe that even though we may have forgotten something, we havent lost it completely. There is a distant bell ringing in a small submarine, very deep in the sea, but it is ringing.



Brown's English Language School (B.E.L.S.) is based in Sano, Tochigi.

We are a private school, here to help you with your English needs and wants.

We offer tailor-made classes just for you, online or in person.

To reach your English goals, contact us! 

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0