· 

Ask Yourself, Why?

All of our clients have studied English at school, whether a very long time ago or even now.

All of our clients have self-studied English, some often, some rarely and a few daily!

Some of our clients have had all manner of different classes in their pursuit of learning the English language.

 

In their studies,  common vocabulary and topics come up again and again. Even in our sessions, they come up as they are great to start a conversation or keep them going. 

 

For example,

"What's your favorite food?",

"Do you have any hobbies?", etc. 

 

As an English Facilitator,  this can be a little boring but it's safe, familiar and everyone has an answer. But, many people don't know why they answer the way they do.

 

"Why do you like Sano ramen?"

"It's delicious."

"Why is it delicious?"

"Er, I like it. It's delicious."

 

Hmm. There are many reasons "WHY" you have a favorite food.

What makes Sano ramen delicious for you?

Is it the salty soy sauce soup, the smooth, flat textured noodle, the toppings, nostalgia, you rarely get to eat it, is it comforting, is it warming? Why?

 

"Why do you like singing?"

" I enjoy it."

"Why do you enjoy it?"

"Er, I enjoy it."

 

I love singing because...

  • I can feel any emotion just by the song I choose to sing.
  • It makes me happy, sad, excited, energized, relaxed, sleepy, motivated, miserable, angry, thoughtful, compassionate, peaceful etc.
  • The music can move me and the lyrics can make me think.
  • It reminds me of friends or family, a time or place.

All of these things and more.

"I enjoy it." is the tip of the iceberg, "why I enjoy it is the interesting part."

 

By asking yourself "WHY",

you get to know yourself better, that's why!

You also find new words you didn't know you wanted or needed!

Duncan.

 

 

Brown's English Language School (B.E.L.S.) is based in Sano, Tochigi.

We are a private school, here to help you with your English needs and wants.

We offer tailor-made classes just for you, online or in person.

To reach your English goals, contact us! 

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0