· 

Frog or Toad?

Masami (my wife) and I often talk about the differences between Japanese and English.

We have different ideas of what is important and what isn't.

 

For someone who wants to communicate in English, is it important to be 100% accurate?

I would say, "No". Both Masami and I think if you can communicate your ideas, thoughts or feelings, that's good! But sometimes I think there are differences that are important to know.

 

For example, raccoon, raccoon dog and badger.

Or, frog and toad.

How are they different?

How do you say those words in Japanese?

 

How do you say England in Japanese?

How do you say Britain in Japanese?

Is a British person the same as an English person?

 

I'm half Scottish and half English so the last few questions are important to me.

I don't work in a zoo so the animal questions are not so important to me.

But the most important thing for me is communication.

 

Would I be upset if a person used the wrong English word?

No, not if I understood what they were trying to say.

If I didn't understand, I would ask questions until I did.

 

I hope this information doesn't put people off from trying.

Learning a second language can be a lifelong journey.

Putting what you learn into practice is the only way to see where you are now and where you need to go on your journey. 

 

Brown's English Language School (B.E.L.S.) is based in Sano, Tochigi.

We are a private school, here to help you with your English needs and wants.

We offer tailor-made classes just for you, online or in person.

To reach your English goals, contact us! 

Write a comment

Comments: 0