· 

The New, New Normal

 

The COVID-19 pandemic has been a testing time for everyone across the world; from the worst of happenings, losing loved ones, to the least of inconvenience, having to wear a mask.

All of our lives have changed over the last few years and the phrase “new normal” has been used for these changes.

 

Having lived in Japan from before the pandemic, wearing a face mask is no big deal for me, I frequently wear one to prevent catching or giving a cold. I also wear a face mask to lessen my seasonal hay fever; in the UK my symptoms were only during Spring and Summer however, in Japan it’s almost all year round!

 

For some in the West, wearing a face mask was felt as an attack on peoples’ freedom; people protested against being forced to wear them. Now, it isn’t mandatory and no-one I know in the UK or North America wears one.

 

Why am I writing about wearing face masks? Masami informs me, after this year’s Golden Week, the enforcement of wearing masks in public places will be removed. I hope this will encourage people to accept the new, new normal for a little more freedom in their lives.

 

For me, I feel it’s time to re-start lessons which I stopped during the uncertain times at the height of the pandemic, those are: “Cooking in English” and “Singing in English”. These were two very enjoyable and interesting lessons for me to give and I look forward to giving them to people who feel more relaxed in going out and doing things.

 

 

It may take a while for me to get used to a new, new normal but, it will be interesting for me to try.

 

Brown's English Language School (B.E.L.S.) is based in Sano, Tochigi.

We are a private school, here to help you with your English needs and wants.

We offer online or in person.

 

 

To reach your English goals, contact us! 

Write a comment

Comments: 0