· 

That’s Perfect but it Sounds Wrong

Hello. My name is Duncan Brown and I am an English Facilitator, here are some of my thoughts about learning the English language. 

 

IT SOUNDS FUNNY

Every now and again, I hear a sentence that makes me think, “Is the grammar correct?”. The sentence structure sounds awkward or just plain wrong. When this happens, I look like a dog that leans its’ head to one side trying to understand.

 

When I hear an awkward sentence, I repeat it over and over to hear if it improves my feeling about it. I think of the grammatical rules it follows and look for any exceptions that I don’t know about. I ask Masami or check reference books or look on the internet but that can come up with more questions than answers.

 

IT'S NEW TO ME

Knowing that the English language is ever evolving, I look at what has become common practice in spoken English. “More tasty?” Ouch! No thank you. This is a modern trend which I find distracting, I will continue using tastier and reluctantly accept its use.

 

SOUNDS GOOD, SOUNDS BAD 

Take a look at these sentences, “There are a woman and a boy”, and, “There is a woman and a boy”. Did your head lean after reading one of them? Which one SOUNDS correct to you? Which one is correct, “are” or “is”? They are both correct and mean almost the same thing but one doesn’t suit me. Infrequently, correct grammar sounds wrong to the native ear.

 

It’s true that most native speakers of a language are lazy with it, especially teenagers using abbreviations, contractions, and contemporary slang which may or may not continue into common use. When learning English as a second language, students want perfection, however, it can sound wrong.  

 

TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE

How can you improve on perfect grammar? You don’t, just keep using it. Here’s the double standard; When your grammar is incorrect in your native language, people may not think anything of it. If your grammar is incorrect in a second language, you are wrong.

 

What happens if your grammar is correct in a second language but it sounds wrong to a native speaker? 1. The native may incorrectly correct you. 2. A discussion about grammar begins. 3. Nothing. 4. The native is confused.

 

If there is confusion the simple solution is to rephrase your sentence. For everything else, go along with it. Even when it’s perfect, it may just sound wrong.

 

 

 

Brown’s English Language Schoolは、

 

・英語(受験英語、各種試験対策)

・英会話(おとな、こども)

・英語コミュニケーションスキル

 

を楽しく学べるスクールです

対面・オンライン、どちらでの受講可能です。

 

また、

・知っていると役に立つ日本語と英語の違いセミナー

・英語コミュニケーション ワークショップ

・English Pronunciation Workshop

 

など、英語でコミュニケーションを取るために役に立つ

セミナーやワークショップを行っています。

 

 

Brown’s English Language School
Website: https://bels3.jimdofree.com/

FB: @BELS.sano

Instagram: @bels.sano

 

 

Masami Brown

FB:@masami.brown.94/

お友達申請くださいね♪
(ブログ読みました!と一言いただけると嬉しいです!)

 

 

***問い合わせ***

ご自身のペースに合わせてレッスンを取りたい方→こちら

英語コミュニケーションプログラム→こちら

 

 

♢♢♢お知らせ♢♢♢

英語はコミュニケーションのツール!
どのスキルを向上させればあなたの英語コミュニケーションスキルが
向上するか知りたい方は、

bels.eigo@gmail.comへご連絡ください。